Colorado Knife Laws

The Definitive Guide to Colorado Knife Laws

Knife laws may vary by state and also by city. This is because there is no national knife law and each jurisdiction has its own set of laws and regulations. The purpose of this guide is to educate the readers about Colorados knife/weapon laws.

Colorado House Bill 1092:

This bill was drafted to protect Colorados citizens from the federal government declaring Colorado a sanctuary state. It will do so by enforcing stricter enforcement on those who violate weapons statutes as well as those who carry concealed weapons without a permit as well as those who sell or distribute firearms or ammunition illegally within the state.

Understanding the knife laws in Colorado is critical to avoid legal repercussions.

What can you Carry in Colorado?

Colorado has a growing population of people who enjoy outdoor activities. This population includes hikers, campers, hunters, and fishermen. Colorado is one of the few states in the union to allow some forms of carry knives.

The following are the types of knives that are legal to carry in Colorado:

Hunting Knife

A hunting knife is defined as any fixed-blade knife with a blade over 3 inches long that is designed primarily for hunting game animals or fishing; it includes all types of single-edged blade knives with blades over 3 inches long (including those that have both single and double edges).

Camping Knife

Any folding or fixed-blade knife with a blade less than 3 inches long designed for use as cutlery on camping trips or other outdoor activities may be carried.

Are there any exceptions to the Knife Law?

One of the most common questions we get asked in our knife shop is “am I allowed to carry a knife?” The answer to that question is that it depends. If you live in New York City, you can’t carry any knives on your person. But if you live in Colorado, there are some exceptions to the law.

In Colorado, there are many people who use knives for work or hobbies and know when and when not to use them. So they would be exempt from the law when carrying a concealed weapon for work purposes or while hunting.

In Colorado, it is illegal to carry a knife unless you are in your home or car or carrying it with intent to use it in self-defense. The law also prohibits the sale of knives to children.

In Colorado, any person over the age of 18 can carry a concealed weapon if they have a permit. Those who are not permitted to carry a concealed weapon may carry a firearm openly in the state, but not in any establishment that sells alcohol.

In Colorado, it is illegal to have a firearm in your vehicle if you are intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.

Conclusion: A Useful Overview of Colorado Knife Laws

According to section 18-12-105 of Colorado law, “It is unlawful for any person within the limits of any city or town in this state to wear outside of his or her clothes or conceal about his or her person any bowie knife, dirk knife, butcher knife, sharp pointed stabbing instrument, metal knuckles and slung shot and to go armed with such concealed weapons.” This statute also prohibits anyone from wearing or carrying a dangerous weapon having a blade longer than three inches.

The state does not allow you to bring knives into schools, onto school buses, daycares or correctional facilities or into city council meetings. It is also illegal for anyone over 18 years old to sell a knife with blades longer than 3 1/2 inches to anyone under 18 years old.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top