Shopping Cart

Free Worldwide Shipping!

New Jersey Knife Laws 1

New Jersey Knife Laws

Important Facts to Know about New Jersey Knife Laws

The law on knives in New Jersey is not as strict as the law on guns, but there are still serious consequences for breaking the law. New Jersey is an interesting place when it comes to knives. There are many laws that control what you can carry and how long it stays legal.

The law prohibits the carrying of any knife with a blade longer than 4 inches unless it is a hunting, fishing or camping knife or a knife used for food preparation.

Knives are considered dangerous weapons and if you carry one without a permit, you can be charged with disorderly person offense which carries up to 6 months in prison and fines of up to $1,000. In addition to that, if you use your knife for an unlawful purpose, the penalties increase dramatically.

There are only two exceptions to this ban on carrying knives without a permit: 1) if you are employed as an industrial or commercial fisherman, or 2) if you are transporting the knives that you will use for work purposes in your vehicle or briefcase, then you will be exempted from needing a New Jersey Knife Permit.

New Jersey Crimes Involving Knives

New Jersey law on knives is strict. The NJ Code of Criminal Justice defines a knife as any instrument with a blade that is 2 inches long or longer. The law also states that it doesn’t matter what the shape of the blade is, or what type of handle it has. Knives are considered dangerous weapons, which means you can be charged with certain crimes if you carry them with you in public without any good reason.

It’s important to know that even if your knife is not considered dangerous, carrying one in public may still be against the law if it’s not carried for protection or self-defense.

In New Jersey, it is illegal to sell any knife with a blade that is over four inches in length. Adults must not carry a knife that has a blade that is greater than three inches. It is illegal to carry a knife with the intent to use it unlawfully against another person, but this does not apply to knives carried in one’s home or vehicle.

It would be unlawful for an adult to carry a switchblade or other spring-blade knife. If you are caught carrying a switchblade or other spring-bladed knives, you may face up to 18 months imprisonment and $2000 for the first offence.

Knives are not just a weapon. They can also be used as a tool for food preparation and other everyday tasks. New Jersey law does not make knives illegal, but it does make it illegal to use them in certain ways under certain circumstances.

Knives are legal, but they cannot be used for the following purposes:

  • Causing bodily injury
  • Disposing of dead animals
  • As a weapon in a fight or other public disturbance

Conclusion

Knife crimes in New Jersey are on the rise and even though concealed knives are not legal, many citizens do it anyway.

The law provides for a presumption of non-criminal intent to possess a knife with an exposed blade less than three inches long, and the presumption is not rebutted by evidence establishing criminal intent.

The law in New Jersey states that it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon, unless it is for a valid purpose such as hunting or fishing. The only exception to this law is if the person has a valid permit or license from the State Police stating that they can legally possess a firearm or edged weapon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.