New Mexico Knife Laws

Table of Contents


Knives are essential tools for many tasks, but the misuse of knives can be deadly. Knife laws are important because they dictate how knives can be carried, who can have them, and what kind of knives people are allowed to have.

Knife laws vary from state to state and sometimes even city to city. Knowing the specifics of your region is essential to understanding what you can and cannot do with a knife.

Certain knives are not permitted to carry or possess within the state, including:

  • Switchblades, which include spring-blade knives, snap-blade knives and gravity knives
  • Daggers
  • Bowie knives
  • Bolo knives

Knife law is a very broad term that encompasses many different topics. This article will discuss the different laws concerning the carrying and use of knives in New Mexico.

The first law is that anyone who carries a knife has to have either their own or someone else’s permission.

The second law is that you are not allowed to carry concealed knives or any other kind of weapon unless you have a license to do so.

The last law talked about is that there are certain types of knives that cannot be carried at all regardless if it’s open or concealed.

Legal Knives You Can Own in New Mexico

In New Mexico, a person may own any type of knife as a weapon. This includes knives that are deadly, dangerous, or sharp. The person can also carry a knife in public as long as they have the license to do so.

The law does not include other types of sharp objects such as box cutters and scissors. A person cannot carry any object that could be used as a weapon in public unless they have an explicit purpose or if it is part of their profession or trade.

Legal knives can include: switchblades, stilettos, dirks, daggers and bowies.

A person commits the crime of carrying a concealed weapon if they have an article from New Mexico law that is not designed as an offensive or defensive weapon as long as it is carried on the person’s body in some sort of way that it is hidden from public view.

The Illegal Possession of weapons includes knives with blades less than three inches long. A person commits the crime of possessing prohibited weapons if they carry one on their person or in their vehicle without legal permission to do so.

As long as you are 18 years old, have no criminal record, and can provide 2 forms of ID, then you can legally own a Bowie knife or a Bowie type knife.

Knife Use Restrictions in New Mexico

New Mexico is one of the few states that has knife restrictions and they vary among the different counties.

The law that applies to knives in New Mexico is N.M. Stat. Ann. § 30-9-11, which prohibits carrying a weapon with dangerous intent, possession of a deadly weapon by certain persons, and carrying a concealed dangerous weapon without a permit.

New Mexico law does not prohibit carrying any type of knife unless the blade is longer than four inches or it is otherwise defined as a deadly weapon in N.M. Stat. Ann § 30-9-2 or 30-9-3.”

The law prohibits the possession, manufacture, distribution or acquisition of knives that are not legal knives.

Possession of an illegal knife is subject to penalties under state law. Penalties range from six months imprisonment up to three years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.00 for conviction on first offense.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *