Minnesota Knife Laws

Table of Contents

Knife Laws of Minnesota And When Do You Need to Worry

Knife laws in Minnesota are a state law that regulates the ownership, use, and carrying of knives.

In Minnesota, it is illegal to carry a knife with a blade longer than three inches in your pocket or on your person without authorization from the state.

In order to carry a knife longer than three inches you must have an occupational license from the Department of Natural Resources, available through an application process.

The law is very strict and says that it is illegal to carry a knife with a blade length over 4 inches without the intent to use it as an emergency or tool. It also states that you cannot carry a knife on school property, on public transportation, or at any place where it is likely to be used as a weapon.

Knives are considered dangerous weapons in Minnesota and they are subject to the provisions set forth in the Misuse of Dangerous Weapons law. But there is no prohibition on possession, sale, or use of any knife which has a blade less than three inches long.

Can You Carry a Knife Without Concealing It In Minnesota?

Effective July 1, 2017, knives with blades less than 12 inches long are now legal to carry without a permit. Minnesotans can also carry knives of any size on their boats and snowmobiles. However, they must be unloaded and securely wrapped when they enter a public building or an airport security checkpoint.

In Minnesota, there is no limit to the length of blade that can be carried as long as it is not concealed from view.

The blade length requirements for carrying knives depend on the location of your residence.

Concealing a knife without an automatic knife is considered illegal by Minnesota law, but carrying one openly may not be illegal.

You can only have a pocket knife if you have a permit to carry one.

What’s the Law on Carrying a Switchblade in Minnesota?

A switchblade is defined as any knife with a blade that opens automatically by the release of a spring or by pressure applied to one of more buttons on the handle. A switchblade differs from an automatic knife because it does not continuously open when the blade is released.

Switchblades are illegal in Minnesota. It is illegal to carry, manufacture, sell, buy, dispose of or transport switchblades on your person or in your vehicle.

Switchblades are illegal in Minnesota and it is illegal for people to carry them on their person or bring them into their car where they can be reached quickly.

Switchblades and other large knives are prohibited in the state of Minnesota.


In conclusion, it is important to know what knives are legal and illegal when in Minnesota.

The conclusion of this article is to know what knives are allowed in Minnesota, how to stay out of trouble if you are caught with a knife on your person or in your vehicle, and what you should do if you are hit by a car.

Minnesota law dictates that knives are illegal if they have blades four inches or more in length.

The first violation of this law is punishable by a fine of $500 and six months imprisonment.

The second violation of this law is punishable by a fine of $1000 and one year imprisonment.

Minnesota law does not allow for the ownership, manufacture, sale or possession, with intent to sell or distribute, any switchblade knife.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *